Litigation Risks of COVID-19 Remote Witness and Notary Laws

Sasha Riedisser
Douglas (Doug) Stanley
Andrew Bleyer
Sasha Riedisser |
Douglas (Doug) Stanley |
Andrew Bleyer |

Live Video-Broadcast: May 15, 2020

Litigation Risks of COVID-19 Remote Witness and Notary Laws
MCLE Credit Information:

Select Your State Below to View CLE Credit Information

Can't Decide Which CLE Progam?

Access All
myLawCLE Programs
Only $245yr

Annual Subscription includes access to:
  • 500+ Live CLE Webinars
  • National Hot Legal Topics
  • New Laws and Regulations
  • State Specific Programs
  • All Formats: Live, Replay, & On-Demand
Subscribe Today
Training 5 or more people?

Sign-up for a law firm subscription plan and each attorney in the firm receives free access to all CLE Programs

Program Summary

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, many states have temporarily authorized or expanded remote notarization and witnessing of critical transactional and estate planning documents. Remote notarization and remote witnessing present a number of unique risks, particularly in the context of the execution of estate planning documents. States have taken varying steps to address these risks, some more robust than others. In this CLE, we will review the basic elements of remote notarization and witnessing orders and statutes, discuss litigation risks for documents executed under these orders and statutes, and enumerate some considerations for minimizing those risks where possible.

Key topics to be discussed:

•    Overview of Remote notarization and witnessing laws
•    Risks of remote notarization and witnessing in the estate planning context
•    Considerations for remote notarization and witnessing of estate planning documents

Date / Time: May 15, 2020

•   3:00 pm - 4:00 pm Eastern
•   2:00 pm - 3:00 pm Central
•   1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Mountain
•   12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Pacific

Choose a format:

•   Live Video Broadcast/Re-Broadcast: Watch Program "live" in real-time, must sign-in and watch program on date and time set above. May ask questions during presentation via chat box. Qualifies for "live" CLE credit.
•   On-Demand Video: Access CLE 24/7 via on-demand library and watch program anytime. Qualifies for self-study CLE credit. On-demand versions are made available 5 business days after the original recording date and are view-able for up to one year.
Closed-captioning available upon request

Speakers

Agenda